Write For Us

Sibelius - Karelia Suite: Intermezzo [HD]

Google Rank
The Karelia Suite, Op. 11, is a collection of orchestral pieces composed by the Finnish composer Jean Sibelius.
The pieces in this suite are drawn from several independent works he wrote in 1893 for a patriotic historical pageant to be presented by students of the University of Helsinki in Viipuri, Karelia, in the south-eastern corner of Finland. Sibelius subsequently compiled a "Concert Suite" of three pieces from the pageant's incidental music (an overture was published separately as Op. 10).
The rough-hewn character of the music was deliberate: the aesthetic intention was not to dazzle with technique but to capture the quality of "naive," folk-based authenticity. Historical comment has noted the nationalistic character of the music.

The suite is one of Sibelius's earlier works and remains one of his most popular.
Sign in or sign up to post comments.
Be the first to comment