Techno City: What Is Detroit Techno?


Thanks! Share it with your friends!

You disliked this video. Thanks for the feedback!

Added by AVA
First broadcast on TV, Third Ear is proud to present for the first time online, its unique documentary filmed on location in Detroit and featuring personal interviews and commentary from some of the seminal figures in the story of Techno.

Including coverage of the inaugural Detroit Electronic Music Festival.

"Detroit Techno. The definitive Techno music.
Revered abroad. Ignored at home. Until now.

In the year 2000, nearly fifteen years after
the first pioneering recordings, the city of
Detroit held its first electronic music festival.

This film is a celebration of the Detroit sound.

Welcome to Techno City."

Carl Craig - Planet E Communications
"A Wonderful Life" by Carl Craig
Barrett Watten - Wayne State University, Detroit
"Stardancer" by The Martian
Derrick May - Transmat
"Nude Photo" by Rhythim Is Rhythim
"Live For Friction" by Shake
"Reach" by Paperclip People (Carl Craig)
Kenny Larkin - Art Of Dance
"Java" by Kenny Larkin
"Velocity" Funk by E Dancer
"Blackout" by Lil Louis
Carol Marvin - DEMF Organiser
Stacey Pullen - Black Flag
"On The DL" by Eddie Flashing Fowlkes
Eddie Flashing Fowlkes - City Boy
"Night Illusions" by Octave One
Lawrence, Lorne & Lenny Burden - Octave One
Kevin Saunderson - KMS
"Groovin Without A Doubt" by Kevin Saunderson & Derrick May
"Without" by Kenny Larkin

Original Concept & music selection : Guy McCreery
Directed by Ben Cohen.

For more information please visit

Post your comment

Sign in or sign up to post comments.


Be the first to comment