Write For Us

Tye Tribbett: Tiny Desk Concert

Sponsored Post advertising Canada Persia
Suraya Mohamed | March 20, 2023

It was a bit of a tight fit, getting the choir, horns and full rhythm section properly situated behind the center nook of the Desk where Tye Tribbett would eventually stand. As the band warmed up, there was concern that his voice might not carry over the fullness of the talented ensemble. During the rehearsal, he stood nearby, directing music cues, occasionally taking a moment to make “grrrr” vocalizations as the band adjusted to bring the loudness down. They quickly found just the right level and when Tribbett moved into place for sound check, his lead vocal both blended into and soared above the magnificence of the band’s high energy praise music.

Even before the production crew pushed their record buttons, an excitement filled the air. As the first song developed, the intensity rose to an even higher level, setting the tone for an emotional, spiritual experience. Musical excellence was abundant as the singers lifted their voices with precise intonation, and Tribbetts’ vigor was infectious. The complex instrumental arrangements included jazzy licks and funky beats that drove spontaneous but smooth transitions in and out of six inspiring songs.

Before the last tune, the encouraging “Be Alright,” Tribbett exclaimed, “There is hope! You’re never hopeless. I know your world gets dark and you feel all by yourself. You think nobody sees you but God sees you and not only does he see you but he’s been with you the whole time.”

“No Way”
“Get Up”
“He Turned It”
“Be Alright”

Tye Tribbett: vocals
Joseph Bethea: keys
Brandon Jones: keys
Thaddaeus Tribbett: bass
George "Spanky" McCurdy: drums
Jabari Johnson: guitar
Kevin Woods: trumpet
Joseph Streater: trumpet
Frank Rein: trombone
Jalisa Faye: vocals
Jewell Jones: vocals
Jocelyn Bowman: vocals
Sharon Ann: vocals
Billy Crayton Jr.: vocals
Brandon Edwards: vocals

Producer: Bobby Carter
Director/Editor: Kara Frame
Audio Engineer: Neil Tevault
Audio Mix: Josh Rogosin
Creative Director: Bob Boilen
Videographers: Kara Frame, Joshua Bryant, Sofia Seidel, Maia Stern
Audio Assistant: Josephine Nyounai
Production Assistants: Jill Britton, Ashley Pointer
Tiny Desk Team: Suraya Mohamed, Marissa Lorusso, Hazel Cills, Pilar Galván
VP, Visuals and Music: Keith Jenkins
Senior VP, Programming: Anya Grundmann

#tinydesk nydesk #nprmusic #tyetribbett
NPR, NPR Music, National Public Radio
Sign in or sign up to post comments.
Be the first to comment